2024 Day 21 – Purple

This sunset sky is bruised with purple cloud.
Like shades of kings in the Tyrian purple
Of a thousand ghostly molluscs.
Purple for pride, purple for mourning,
(Which sometimes go together).
I cannot yet see
The Purple Forbidden Enclosure where the North Star lives.
I would fill my arms with purple flowers,
Lavender and mallow, thistle and heliotrope,
And a thoughtful pansy.
I watch the sunset sky, remembering
How much it bruised my heart that, at the end,
My mother’s arms blossomed to purple at a touch.

Notes: The prompt was to ‘write a poem that repeats or focuses on a single color.’ I love purple but I sometimes have an ambiguous relationship with it.

15 responses

  1. Pingback: Day Twenty-Two

  2. Very nice the way the sunset frames the poem, going from a “bruised” sunset to “bruised” heart making way for the powerful last lines. Congrats on the feature. Well-deserved.

  3. Pingback: Day 22: NaPoWriMo 2024–I’m a Lover, Not A Fighter – Selma

  4. Pingback: NaPoWriMo 2024 ~ Day 22 | awritersfountain

Leave a comment