2017 Day 21 – I’m Sitting Here, Yeah?

They said
Mr Snell had hung his own dog
…a cocktail with my mates…
It was only a rumour.
Apologise? Apologise?
  Spare change, please?
Poor old Snelly – I wonder
What he’s doing now.
I’m sitting here, yeah?
Spare change, please?
He’s probably dead, like his dog,
won’t be in heaven if he hung his dog.
I didn’t care.
Is it hung or hanged? Can you say hanged?
Explain the world in five words.
It was only a rumour.
Spare change, please?
It’s hung for things, hanged for people.
Apologise? Apologise?
A dog isn’t a person.
It’s not a thing either.
I didn’t care.
Spare change, please?
Explain the world in five words.
…a cocktail with my mates…
Poor old Snelly. Poor dog.
I’m sitting here, yeah?

Notes: The prompt was to write a poem that incorporates overheard speech. This is a mix of a conversation between two of my work colleagues and random things overheard on the street.

Leave a Reply

