2016 Day 21 – Rambling Bramble

Excuse me if I ramble
But I’m just a simple bramble.
I’ve been hanging round this palace
For a hundred years and more
And it’s really rather boring
When they’re all asleep and snoring
Instead of all the parties
And the fun they had before.
In fact, it started with a party:
The wine was strong, the food was hearty,
The princess was getting christened.
All the kingdom was invited –
All the kingdom save one fairy
And that’s when things got quite hairy.
The band had just struck up a waltz
When Malificent was sighted.
I was just a little twig then,
Wished I was fierce and big then
To protect me from the fury
Of a fairy with a grudge
When she went and put the boot in
I wished I could pull my root in
Away from her size sevens –
I tried, it wouldn’t budge.
For the princess it was worse;
The fairy threw a curse,
Something about a spindle,
Whatever that might mean.
Then she flew off in a huff
While I tried to look quite tough
And things stayed more or less OK
Till the princess turned sixteen.
(Meanwhile I’d done some growing,
My protective thorns were showing
And my leaves were multiplying,
Lush and green and all of that.)
Next thing I know, they’re sleeping
And a magic spell is keeping
Them all preserved and peaceful,
Down to the kitchen cat,
Though I wasn’t affected.
I grew and grew, neglected,
All around the palace
Like a spiked protective wall.
But now this prince is stood there,
He’s up to no good there,
He’s got a sharp sword in his hand
And I don’t like that at all…

 

Notes: The prompt was to write a poem in the voice of a minor character from a fairy tale or myth.

 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

