2016 Day 10 -Off the shelf

Feeling the pressure cooking day by day
And fearing his death day
The last hero
Went looking for Mr Goodbar,
Followed the lion and the unicorn
Through the marvellous land of Oz.
Crossing the water,
Met The Mighty Micro,
Legendary wizard
And storyteller.
(His practical Celtic magic
Was the secret to
How I managed my children,
My little songbirds in the nest.)
Micro’s cat tales conjured up,
Unexpectedly,
100 maddening cats, whose howls,
Wailing the lyric of Dragon Claw Keep,
Summoned angels of fire
From Unicorn Mountain.
Out of their songs of innocence and experience
The fire rose
And in the smoke and mirrors
He saw the shadow of a dark queen,
Knew his doom then;
Ended at last as
A splash of red in the bloody chamber.

 

Notes: Today’s prompt was to write a ‘book spine’ poem. I’ve used a very random selection of books from my shelves:

Pressure Cooking Day by Day
Death Day
The Last Hero
Looking for Mr Goodbar
The Lion and the Unicorn
The Marvellous Land of Oz
Crossing the Water
The Mighty Micro
Practical Celtic Magic
How I Managed My Children
Songbirds
The Nest
Cat Tales
100 Maddening Cats
Lyric of Dragon Claw Keep
Angels of Fire
Unicorn Mountain
Songs of innocence and experience
The Fire Rose
Smoke and Mirrors
Shadow of a Dark Queen
A Splash of Red
The Bloody Chamber

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses

  1. Wow! You really went to the prompt! Nicely done. I love the tale….the twist at the end and especially these lines “His practical Celtic magic
    Was the secret to
    How I managed my children,
    My little songbirds in the nest.)”
    Really enjoyed this.
    lillian

Leave a Reply

