2015 Day 15 – Imagined conversation

I never knew until too late.

You should have known, you should have known.
You should have seen it in my eyes.
I felt so frightened and alone.

I should have seen it in your eyes.
I should have known, I should have known.

You’re sorry now, but it’s too late.
I had to make it on my own.

How could I know? You didn’t speak.

Would you have heard if I had spoken?

I’ll never know. I hope I would.

You hope? I lost my hope when trust was broken.

I wish I knew where you are now.

I wish that you had known back then
To read the story in my eyes.

I wish that we could speak again.

Note: the prompt was to write a poem which takes the form of a conversation. The first voice is mine.

Leave a Reply

