2015 Day 9 – Fairy Gold, Refused

I will not take my pay in fairy gold –
I’ve played that game with you before, my dear,
And though your kiss was sweet, let me be clear:
Such currency won’t keep me from the cold.

You left me with a nasty little rash.
Who knew that germs could spread with ease
From faerie folk to mortals? If you please,
I’ll take my pay henceforth in cold hard cash.

Note: The prompt was “Today I challenge you to write a palinode. And what’s that? It’s a poem in which the poet retracts a statement made in an earlier poem.” This one is a retraction of yesterday’s.

One response

Leave a Reply

