2015 Day 7 – Aubade, postponed

Wake up, my love. The morning’s almost done
And I have been awake since dawn.
Forgive me, dear, if I suppress a yawn
But lack of sleep’s not my idea of fun.

No longer is the skyline rosy-fingered;
No dawn-light sunlight wreathes your head.
It’s nearly noon, and you are still in bed –
The bed in which I wish I could have lingered.

It seems of slumber you have had your fill. Oh,
That I could say the same! I bore
All morning long the buzz-saw of your snore
Despite my urge to stop it with your pillow.

Perhaps you have some dreams that I could borrow,
A flock of woolly restful sheep
To soothe me softly into tranquil sleep.

I swear I’ll wake you up at dawn tomorrow.

Note: The prompt was to write an aubade,a dawn-song. This is more of a noon song…

Leave a Reply

