2014 Day 26 – The Mirror Says

The mirror says my face is too pale.
The mirror says my eyes are too red.
The mirror says the dark shadows
Speak of sleepless nights.
The mirror says my face echoes
My father, mother, brother.
I will not listen
To what the mirror says.

The shop window says I must buy.
The shop window says my reflection
Holds my desires.
The shop window says I must hurry,
Now, before it’s too late.
I will not listen
To what the shop window says.

The pond says it will hold my image.
The pond says it will wreathe it in lilies.
The pond says if I slip softly into the water
My image and I will become one.
The pond says I should become
My own reflection.
I must not listen
To what the pond says.

Your eyes say that I am beautiful.
Your eyes say it does not matter
What I thought I saw
In the mirror, the window, the pond.
Your eyes say I am loved.
I want to listen
To what your eyes say.

 

Note: the prompt was to write a poem that uses anaphora – a literary term for the practice of repeating certain words or phrases at the beginning of multiple clauses or, in the case of a poem, multiple lines. I also wanted to write a poem about mirrors/reflections, as that is the theme for the poetry evening I’m going to on Monday.

One response

Leave a Reply

