2014 Day 6 Ice. Broken.

You said I was your sugar plum, your candy
And we all know how appealing candy is.
You thought that saying this would make things dandy;
You thought your metaphor had won me, but
I said “You’re my intoxicant, my liquor,
And we all know how destructive liquor is.
Let’s end this whole thing now. It’s quicker.”

 

 

Today’s prompt was to write a “golden shovel”. ‘This form was invented by Terrance Hayes in his poem, The Golden Shovel. The last word of each line of Hayes’ poem is a word from Gwendolyn Brooks’ poem We Real Cool. You can read Brooks’ poem by reading the last word of each line of Hayes’ poem!’ The poem I have used is ‘Reflection on Ice-breaking” by Ogden Nash. (I may try a longer one later…)

Leave a Reply

