2013 Day 17 – Hello, Spring. Hello?

Dear Spring, I’d like to greet you
But you’re playing it cool,
Giving me the cold shoulder.
I’m no April Fool
And when you tell me
‘Maybe in May’
I say ‘Charming season,
You’re giving me reason
To feel quite aggrieved.’
Can’t you be a bit bolder?
My winter hat’s cheery,
But I’m weary of chilling
And I’d be so relieved
If you’d stop all this teasing
And this breeze that cuts through me.
I’m willing to wait
For a summer that’s late
But I need a little sun now –
Please, Spring, be nice to me.

 

Notes: Today’s prompt was to write  a poem of greeting. This is a poem about a greeting I’d like the chance to make.

Leave a Reply

