2013 Day 14 – A Superhero’s Love Song

You’re my kryptonite.
What good is x-ray vision
when you’ve wrapped your heart in lead?
You’re under my skin like poison ivy.
You’re a riddle to me
And that’s no joke.
We’re from different planets.
My identity’s no secret to you.
No fortress of solitude
Is as lonely as this feeling.
I would fly to you
But however hard I listen
I cannot hear you call me.
My eyes fail to warm your love.
I wanted to be
A woman with you but, alas,
I will always be only
your Supergirl.

 

Notes: Today’s prompt was to write a persona poem in the voice of a superhero.

One response

Leave a Reply

