2013 Day 12 Not Your Kind

I am not your kind
Though the mirror lies,
Shows me your echo.
The resemblance is superficial.

I am not your kind
And the woman you married
Is not my kin.
The spawn of her spawn
Are not my kin.

I am not your kind
And I want nothing from you
Not even for Christmas
Or birthdays.
I want to give nothing to you
Not even for birthdays
Or Christmas.

I am not your kind
And I close my ears
To the anecdotes,
The mind-numbing stories
About your dogs
And your bargains in Asda.

I am not your kind –
Take the hint
When our forced conversations
Say nothing.
There’s nothing funny
About the old jokes any more.

I am not your kind.
I hold this thought
Like a jewel, a mantra,
A promise of safety
And try not to remember
The someone I lost
Who was kin, who was kind.

 

Notes: Today’s prompt was  “write a poem consisting entirely of things you’d like to say, but never would, to a parent, lover, sibling, child, teacher, roommate, best friend, mayor, president, corporate CEO, etc.”

I think I’m too close to this one for good poetry. *shrug*

2 responses

Leave a Reply

