2013 Day 7 – The ConDem Manifesto Simplified

You are a scrounger.
You deserve less.
You will work harder if we pay you less.
My friend’s a banker.
He deserves much more.
He will work harder if we pay him more.

You do not need an extra bedroom.
You do not need a house.
You have a cardboard box.
Some people do not have cardboard boxes.
You should be grateful.
I need an extra bedroom.
I need an extra house.
I need an extra house that you have paid for.

You have enough money for food.
You don’t need any more.
You are just bad at managing your money.
I need a meal allowance.
I can’t afford to buy my own meals.
Caviar doesn’t come cheap.

You are not disabled.
You are not too disabled to work.
You are just making a fuss.
I do not like people who make a fuss.
I will take their money away.
They have too much money anyway.
They waste it on junk food.

I use my money wisely.
I invest in in houses.
I invest it in flats with one bedroom.
I can rent you a flat when you lose your house.

You don’t need a National Health Service.
You will only abuse it.
I don’t need a National Health Service.
I have private insurance.
I can sell it to my friends.
My friends will like me then.
They will give me a job when I retire from politics.

There was something I was going to ask you.

I’ve forgotten what I was going to ask you.

I remember now.

Can I count on your vote at the next election?

Notes: Today’s prompt was ‘I challenge you to write a poem in which each line except the last takes the form of a single, declarative sentence. Then, the final line should take the form of a question.’

Leave a Reply

