2013 Day One – My mother said

My mother said I never should
And I nodded and lied
But inside I was fizzing
With love and with lust
Broke out in rash poems
Itched to do more.

My mother said I never should
So I didn’t tell her
When I finally did
Though my bitten tongue
Stopped me talking altogether.

My mother said I never should
It didn’t stop me
But it lost me
Behind the good daughter mask.

My mother said I never should
But I did
And I’m glad
And I’d do it again, only…

Mother, I wish I could tell you.

Notes: The prompt was to write a poem which has the same first line as another poem. My first line is stolen from that prolific and timeless poet, Anon.

Leave a Reply

