Day 2 – Triolet

‘A day like you as tears are like the rain’ –
I wrote these words, a thousand years ago,
To exorcise my adolescent pain.
‘A day like you as tears are like the rain.’
I know now exorcism is in vain
For hungry ghosts with nowhere else to go.
‘A day like you as tears are like the rain’ –
I wrote these words a thousand years ago.

 

Notes

This one is cheating a little, as I did write the first (fourth, seventh) line ‘a thousand years ago’ as the first (etc) line of a villanelle! If anyone wants to read the villanelle, I may post it, but be warned – it’s teenage angst at its worst.

Leave a Reply

